Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Support

A guide to library services and support for CityU Faculty

Overview

Persistent links (also called durable, permanent, or permalinks) are URLs that remain consistent and do not change over time. Copying and pasting the URL from your browser address field will not always create a consistent, stable link. Many URLs from library databases only work for a short period because they are created at the moment of access. 

Use the instructions below to create persistent links to articles, database searches, books, and videos. Keep in mind that not all databases have persistent links.

Best Practices in course shells

Links in course shells should be added with caution. It is the responsibility of faculty and program managers to ensure that links are current and persistent. Since links and access change often, we recommend using Leganto Reading Lists to distribute materials to students. This demonstrates good practice for students and reduces broken links in courses. All materials can be added to reading lists, including materials that are not provided through the library.

Through the reading lists, students can alert us to broken links or loss of access and the system automatically updates links to ensure access throughout CityU databases. For more information about Leganto please review this guide.

IF, resources are shared in course shells, we recommend that a full APA citation be supplied so that we can troubleshoot broken links. Access to items can change for many reasons. Adding a full citation enables us to find the item if it is still available in the collections. APA citations also set a good example for students and set the standard for using appropriate citations in an academic environment.

Sharing links with students

When sharing resources with students, consider referring them to course reading lists. This can provide a centralized place for students to access resources.

APA rules

The 7th edition of APA no longer requires that links be added to materials found in library databases. This eliminates the need for persistent links in these citations as well as links to the journal homepages. If you would like students to add persistent links to their citations for your convenience, please ensure that they are aware of this change to their APA citations.

E-Book Central

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click on a record from the list of results
  3. Click the Share link to book button at left
  4. Copy this link

A screenshot of a book record in Ebook central. A red arrow points out the "Share Link to Book" button

EBSCO Databases (Business Source Ultimate, Education Source, etc.)

For Articles:

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click on a record from the list of results
  3. The persistent link is located at the right of the page, under "Tools," click Permalink
  4. Copy this link

A screenshot of a record in EBSCOhost. Red arrows indicate where the "Permalink" icon is under the "Tools" bar

For Search Results:

The EBSCO platform also allows you to grab permalinks for searches. 

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click the Share button in the upper-right
  3. Copy the URL under Persistent link to search

A screenshot of a search results list in EBSCO. The "Share" dropdown menu is highlighted and red arrows indicate where to grad the persistent search link.

O'Reilly

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click on a record from the list of results
  3. Edit the URL in your browser’s address field
  4. REPLACE “learning.oreilly.com” with “go.oreilly.com/cityu-seattle”
  5. Copy this new link
    • Note: You can use the above steps to link directly to a chapter of an e-book, as well — simply navigate to the chapter after Step 2, then proceed with Step 3.

ProQuest Databases (Accounting and Tax, Education Journals, Research Library, etc.)

For Articles:

The URL in your browser’s address bar is a persistent link

For Search Results:

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click “Save search/alert” at upper-right
  3. Click “Get search link”
  4. Copy this link

A screenshot of a search in  ProQuest database. The Save search/alert dropdown menu is circled in red.

SAGE (Knowledge and Research Methods)

  1. Copy the following URL prefix and paste it to the very beginning of the URL in your browser’s address bar
    • https://go.openathens.net/redirector/cityu.edu?url=
  2. Copy the entire new link (prefix + original URL)

Taylor & Francis

  1. Open the article you’d like to link to, and copy the URL from your browser’s address bar
  2. Visit https://go.openathens.net/generate
  3. In the “Find your organization” box, search for City University of Seattle
  4. Paste the URL you copied into the “Enter your links” box
  5. Near the bottom of the screen, to the right of “OpenAthens link”, click Copy (this is your persistent link)

Statista

The URL in your browser’s address bar is a persistent link!

IBISWorld

  1. Copy the following URL prefix and paste it to the very beginning of the URL in your browser’s address bar
    • https://go.openathens.net/redirector/cityu.edu?url=
  2. Copy the entire new link (prefix + original URL)

A Note on Copyright

Articles integrated into a course management system, such as D2L Brightspace or Blackboard, are subject to copyright.

  • U.S. Copyright law (Title 18, US Code) applies to items you might wish to place or post in to your Blackboard course or on a web page.
  • Rather than place or upload an article in an online course, faculty should provide links to materials for students. Linking to materials available through library databases is often the most efficient method of providing materials to students. For more information on Course Management Systems and Copyright, visit http://www.copyright.com/media/pdfs/Using-Course-Management-Systems.pdf.
  • Copyright also requires that you include complete citation information with links. The text of the link should include author, title, publication, volume and issue number (if applicable), copyright year and page numbers.

For more information on copyright, please see our Copyright for Faculty page.