City University of Seattle Library: Evaluate Information: Grey Literature Resources

Data Sources

Where do you find grey literature?

Here is a non-exhaustive list of grey literature sources:

Government Agencies	Databases
Think Tanks	Online Repositories
Intergovernmental Organizations	Professional Associations
Academic Conferences	Social Media
Organizational Websites	Research Organizations
Research Centers	Non-governmental Organizations

Library Databases

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1 million dissertations and theses
National University System Repository This link opens in a new window
The National University System Repository exists to increase public access to research and other materials created by students and faculty of the affiliate institutions of National University System. Most items in the repository are open access, freely available to everyone.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Articles from international and U.S. regional newspapers
Statista This link opens in a new window
Quantitative data on business, finance, politics, and media.

Interdisiplinary Online Sources

arXiv
Supported by volunteers, Cornell University, donors and third-party collaborators, arXiv is a free distribution service. It is an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
PsyArXiv
PsyArXiv promotes rapid dissemination of psychological research. It is a creation of the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science (SIPs) and the Center for Open Science (COS). It contains working papers, unpublished works, and articles under review (preprints).
CogPrints
CogPrints is an "archive for self-archive papers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of computer science, philosophy, biology, as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition." Free registration required
US Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)
OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. Topics focus on physics, industrial materials, chemistry, biology, environmental sciences, and nuclear medicine.
IMS Preprints
Preprint server of the Institute for Mathematical Sciences at Stony Brook University. Houses preprints from 1990 to present with topics focusing on geometry, topology, dynamics, complex analysis, differential equations, algebra and representation theory, and mathematical physics.
Preprints.org
Preprints.org is a multidiscipline platform subsidized by MDPI in Basel, Switzerland.
It provides preprint service that is dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. Preprint.org is not peer-reviewed. Authors can receive public or private feedback on their work from peers.

Open Access Sources

Open Educational Resources
DOI:10.59668/371.8286
Open educational resources (OER) are copyrightable works useful for educational purposes that exist in the public domain or under a copyright license that provides free and perpetual permission to retain, revise, remix, reuse, and redistribute (collectively known as the “5R Activities'').