Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Tools & Tips

Technology-based tips for leveraging the tools in the library and databases

Overview

Persistent links (also called durable, permanent, or permalinks) are URLs that remain consistent and do not change over time. Copying and pasting the URL from your browser address field will not always create a consistent, stable link. Many URLs from library databases only work for a short period because they are created at the moment of access. 

Use the instructions below to create persistent links to articles, database searches, books, and videos. Keep in mind that not all databases have persistent links.

APA rules

The 7th edition of APA no longer requires that links be added to materials found in library databases. This eliminates the need for persistent links in these citations as well as links to the journal homepages. Keep in mind that some programs and/or instructors may request persistent links in their citations for ease of access.

For complete APA rules, please review our Guide.

Citation software and persistent links

When using citation software to cite and save resources, they will often use the url from the database during the export (which may not be persistent). Consider changing this link to a persistent link in order to be able to return to your article later. If you do not change the link, there is a chance that the link will break but you will still have the information needed to find the article in the library collection.

[Other methods of using citation managers (like browser extensions) avoid persistent links altogether by uploading the full text version of the article]

Sharing links

Sharing links can be done by using persistent links for anyone who is enrolled at CityU or who works at CityU. If you are trying to share items with people outside of the institution, persistent links will not work for them as they will not be able to sign in to our system. It is best to share complete citations so that they can source the items through their institutions or online. Be aware of copyright when you are sharing items outside of the institution.

Saving information

When saving articles by using links, make sure that you use persistent links. Save the complete citation to ensure that you can find the resource again when you need it. Keep in mind that you retain access to databases as long as you are enrolled at CityU. Most databases do not allow alumni access. Review this page for complete Alumni services.

Downloading articles to your computer allows you to save your research offline. Keep in mind that not all databases allow downloading. Citation managers can also help you by hosting full text articles. See more information on our guide to citation managers.

E-Book Central

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click on a record from the list of results
  3. Click the Share link to book button at left
  4. Copy this link

A screenshot of a book record in Ebook central. A red arrow points out the "Share Link to Book" button

EBSCO Databases (Business Source Ultimate, Education Source, etc.)

For Articles:

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click on a record from the list of results
  3. The persistent link is located at the right of the page, under "Tools," click Permalink
  4. Copy this link

A screenshot of a record in EBSCOhost. Red arrows indicate where the "Permalink" icon is under the "Tools" bar

For Search Results:

The EBSCO platform also allows you to grab permalinks for searches. 

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click the Share button in the upper-right
  3. Copy the URL under Persistent link to search

A screenshot of a search results list in EBSCO. The "Share" dropdown menu is highlighted and red arrows indicate where to grad the persistent search link.

IBISWorld

  1. Copy the following URL prefix and paste it to the very beginning of the URL in your browser’s address bar
    • https://go.openathens.net/redirector/cityu.edu?url=
  2. Copy the entire new link (prefix + original URL)

O'Reilly

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click on a record from the list of results
  3. Edit the URL in your browser’s address field
  4. REPLACE “learning.oreilly.com” with “go.oreilly.com/cityu-seattle”
  5. Copy this new link
    • Note: You can use the above steps to link directly to a chapter of an e-book, as well — simply navigate to the chapter after Step 2, then proceed with Step 3.

ProQuest Databases (Accounting and Tax, Education Journals, Research Library, etc.)

For Articles:

The URL in your browser’s address bar is a persistent link

For Search Results:

  1. Complete a search
  2. Click “Save search/alert” at upper-right
  3. Click “Get search link”
  4. Copy this link

A screenshot of a search in  ProQuest database. The Save search/alert dropdown menu is circled in red.

SAGE (Knowledge and Research Methods)

  1. Copy the following URL prefix and paste it to the very beginning of the URL in your browser’s address bar
    • https://go.openathens.net/redirector/cityu.edu?url=
  2. Copy the entire new link (prefix + original URL)

Statista

The URL in your browser’s address bar is a persistent link!

Taylor & Francis

  1. Open the article you’d like to link to, and copy the URL from your browser’s address bar
  2. Visit https://go.openathens.net/generate
  3. In the “Find your organization” box, search for City University of Seattle
  4. Paste the URL you copied into the “Enter your links” box
  5. Near the bottom of the screen, to the right of “OpenAthens link”, click Copy (this is your persistent link)

A Note on Copyright

Articles integrated into a course management system, such as D2L Brightspace or Blackboard, are subject to copyright.

  • U.S. Copyright law (Title 18, US Code) applies to items you might wish to place or post in to your Blackboard course or on a web page.
  • Rather than place or upload an article in an online course, faculty should provide links to materials for students. Linking to materials available through library databases is often the most efficient method of providing materials to students. For more information on Course Management Systems and Copyright, visit http://www.copyright.com/media/pdfs/Using-Course-Management-Systems.pdf.
  • Copyright also requires that you include complete citation information with links. The text of the link should include author, title, publication, volume and issue number (if applicable), copyright year and page numbers.

For more information on copyright, please see our Copyright for Faculty page.