Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reading Lists (Leganto)

a guide to managing Reading Lists and best practices in Leganto

Managing Your Lists

Managing Reading Lists - Leganto for Faculty

What is it? 

Leganto is CityU’s central repository of course resources which promotes collaboration between program directors, instructors, and librarians to create and publish course Reading Lists.  

With Leganto, faculty can: 

  • Quickly add resources from the web, drag and drop library resources, or upload files to a centralized Reading List 

  • Add or edit resources to the section Reading List at any point in the quarter 

  • Easily reuse content in subsequent terms by saving citations in the Collection area. (section reading lists and items on those lists do not carry over to future reading lists. To save items for future use, add them to your collection and tag them with the course number).

How do I gain access? 

Instructors will gain access to their section Reading Lists when their Brightspace course shells are available (21 days before the start of the quarter).  Reading List appears as a tab at the top of the page. Once students have access to the course shell, they will also access their Reading List this way.  

Is use of Leganto Reading Lists required? 

Leganto is automatically added to Brightspace for all classes. We recommend that all required and recommended readings are listed on the Leganto reading list. Any links to resources in the course shell are not monitored or maintained by the library. By instituting Leganto Reading Lists across all courses, we improve the student experience by standardizing the method in which students access materials. Keeping links out of the course shell also results in less instances of broken or outdated links. 

Reading List Best Practices

As faculty, you can maximize the benefits of the reading lists by following these best practices. These tips will benefit you but they will also maintain consistency for students throughout programs and courses at CityU.

  • Add all items required and recommended that students will need to access throughout the quarter. Always send students to this list. In order to avoid confusion and errors, do not duplicate information into emails or alternate lists.
  • Keep the items organized by adding sections to your list. ex.: Week 1, Module 1, or by topic.
  • Link items directly to the library when available. Items from websites must be freely available or must have Creative Commons Licenses that enable you to share the item.
  • Add items that you want to use in future quarters to your "collection." Add tags to indicate which course the resource should be used for. Items added to section reading lists do not carry over quarter to quarter.

yellow arrow to the option "copy to my collection"

Things to Avoid

  • PDFs should be added with caution. They are not automatically visible to students and must be approved by the library due to copyright restrictions. PDFs that are freely available online should be linked to the original website when possible. Items from your private collections cannot be added without copyright clearance for distribution.
  • Avoid linking to websites that are not reputable or reliable. ex.: ResearchGate. These websites have been known to host articles that the library cannot obtain in the collection. While this may seem beneficial, these articles are often uploaded without copyright clearance and they are often removed without warning. As an instructor, you run the risk of losing access to articles on websites such as these at any time.

Where Can I Learn More?

Where Can I Learn More? 

The short videos below will walk you through common tasks used in managing Reading Lists, including adding web and library resources, uploading documents, and saving items to your personal collection for later use. For the best user experience, view these videos in full-screen mode. 

Adding Library Resources to a Reading List

Uploading PDF or Word documents to a Reading List

Adding Web Resources to a Reading List

Save and Reuse Course Content in a Collection

For additional information and training, see the external sites below: