Items that you find while searching on the library homepage can be added directly to Zotero using the following steps:
1. Conduct a search on the library homepage and select an item you want to add.
2. Use the three dots on the right hand side of the item title to see options.
3. Select Zotero (make sure you Zotero app is open on your desktop).
4. Choose the folder you want to add the item to and confirm.
** Make sure that you downloaded the Zotero Connector before trying to export citations. More information is found on the "Home" page of this guide **
Students can add items directly from Proquest databases to Zotero using the following steps:
1. Search in a Proquest database from our database list.
2. Open the article and select the "All Options" button.
3. Select Zotero from the Citation Export options
4. Select whether you want to export a citation, a pdf, an abstract, or all three.
5. Click on "Continue"
6. The file will now download to your browser. Open the file in your browser or from your download folder on your computer.
7. Select whether you want to upload it to a new folder or an existing Proquest folder (you can move items later).
8. Your file is now in Zotero.
Ebsco uses the Zotero connector and RIS files (similar to Proquest). Export citations to Zotero using the following steps:
1. Search in an Ebsco database from our database list.
2. Open the article and select the "Cite" button.
3. Choose the "Export Citation" tab and select the RIS file option.
4. Select "OK" on the Zotero connector pop-up. (if you do not see a pop-up, you may have enabled it previously and do not need to again).
5. Select the folder you would like to add the article to while using the Zotero connector.
6. Your article should now be in Zotero.
Export citations to Zotero using the following steps:
1. Search in an Sage database from our database list.
2. Open the article and select the "Cite" button.
3. Choose the "Download to Citation Manager" option and select the RIS file option.
4. Select "Download Citation" (You may need to open your downloaded citation from your browser depending on your settings)
5. Your article should now be in Zotero.
Export citations to Zotero using the following steps:
1. Search in an Elsevier database from our database list.
2. Open the article and select the "Cite" button.
3. Select the "Export Citation to RIS"
(You may need to open your downloaded citation from your browser depending on your settings)
4. Your article should now be in Zotero.
Export citations to Zotero using the following steps:
1. Search in an Taylor & Francis database from our database list.
2. Open the article and select the "Cite" button.
3. Choose the "Download to Citation Manager" option and select the RIS file option.
(You may need to open your downloaded citation from your browser depending on your settings)
5. Your article should now be in Zotero.
You can add items from collections that do not have a connection to Zotero.
1. Select the "Add item" button in Zotero
2. Enter all information in the box that pops up on the right hand side.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
