It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Search the Library Collections
A guide to basic research skills, and how to access the Library Collections at CityU
Depending on the topic of research, it may be useful to search in subject-specific databases that cover more than one topic. Typically, when searching in individual subject databases, we search in each database to make sure that we get a good coverage of articles from a wide variety of sources. Some database platforms (like ProQuest and EBSCO) allow users to create custom databases combinations to fit their specific needs. For example, here are some topics that may need research in multiple databases:
Example 1: Support for students with eating disorders within the school system
Subtopic 1: eating disorder treatment in teens (counselling/psychology/child development)
Subtopic 2: within a school system (education)
Example 2: Market analysis of Learning Management Systems in elementary schools
Subtopic 1: Industry and market analysis of a technology (business/market/industry)
Subtopic 2: popularity and use in elementary schools (education)
Each of these searches may benefit from combining subject databases across multiple disciplines. In example one, you'd probably have luck finding information on this topic in both education AND counseling/psychology databases. In example two, you may want to search across our business and management databases, as well as our education databases.
Find out how to combine databases in both the EBSCO and ProQuest platforms below. As always, if you have any further questions, please ask a librarian.
Combining Databases in EBSCO
To combine databases in EBSCO:
Start in any EBSCOhost database
Click on "Choose Databases" (located above the search fields) to add other EBSCOhost database collections to this search
Choose additional collections from the list
Confirm your selection by clicking "Ok"
Search as usual
Watch a video detailing this process here:
Combining Databases in ProQuest
To combine databases in ProQuest:
Start in any ProQuest database
Click on "Databases" (located in the top tool bar) to see which databases you are currently searching
Browse the list of databases and select the ones you wish to add to your search
Finalize your selection by clicking on the "Use selected databases" link